News | 26-Jun-2017

July Webinar: Enhancing IPE Through the Use of a Progressive Case

Webinar: Enhancing IPE Through the Use of a Progressive Case

Presented by:
Gail Swarm, DO
Professor of Family Medicine
Director, Clinical Evaluation Center
West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine

and Amy Holbrook, MS
Operations Manager, Clinical Evaluation Center
West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine

Abstract:
Providing Interprofessional experiences at a stand-alone medical school can be challenging, especially in a rural setting. Collaborations with outside health science schools have enabled WVSOM to provide interactive experiences, which typically will include 80-300 students, for a day-long event. During this webinar, we will share a progressive case that we have utilized for one of these events, which progresses from a standardized patient simulated encounter to a manikin simulation. We will briefly discuss our barriers to providing IPE in a rural setting, the components of a progressive case, and our lessons learned from doing these encounters.

Objectives:
1. Identify components of a progressive case
2. Discuss benefits of a progressive case as part of an IPE
3. Reflect on our experiences to develop a progressive case

This free webinar is sponsored by The Global Institute for Simulation Training and Education Management Solutions.

Join us Wednesday, July 12 at 2:00 pm EDT (1:00 pm CDT; 12:00 pm MDT; 11:00 am PDT; 8 am HAST ) US Time Zones.

Click here to register!

JOIN THE DISCUSSION

Leave a Comment.

EMS has been the leading innovator of simulation training technology for more than 20 years.